Old literature refering to Suwanose-jima

Revised on August 9, 1999

E“‡ó‹µ˜^@"Jittou joukyou-roku" : The Report of the Ten Islands

They call the Tokara Islands "Jitto" which means 10 islands, because the islands consists of about 10 islands. The name of the present village and the regular liner, Toshima, is also the same meaning.

"Jittou joukyou-roku" was written by Gisuke Sasamori (ùX‹V•) in 1895 under his experiences in the Tokara islands. He especially impressed by Tomiden Fujii (“¡ˆä•x“`) for his dedication to colonize Suwanose-jima. So the expressions for Suwanose-jima refers to more in detail than the others.

Žµ“‡–â“š@"Shichitou mondou" : The Report of the Seven Islands

They also call this Tokara Islands "Shichito" which means 7 islands. Though I don't know exactly why they call so. But the reason would be that the islands has 7 islands that is settled by human. The seven settled islands are now Kuchino-shima, Nakano-shima, Taira-jima, Suwanose-jima, Akuseki-jima, Kodakara-jima and Takara-jima. But I think "Shichito" consists of Kuchino-shima, Nakano-shima, Gaja-jima, Taira-jima, Suwanose-jima, Akuseki-jima and Takara-jima. In those days, Kodakara-jima was considered dependent island of Takara-jima. Gaja-jima had been a settled island until 1970. But it was abandoned because of its inaccessibility and depopulation.

"Shichitou mondou" was written by Kaun Shirono (”’–ì‰Ä‰_) in 1885. This would be the oldest literature that refers to Suwanose-jima.

Fig. 1

View from east of Sakuchi caldera collapsed on the last stage of Bunka eruption. Now the caldera floor is largely covered with lava flow by Meiji eruption in 1884. But as this picture was drawn before that event, there is no fresh lava flow.

Fig. 2

Locality map of Suwanose-jima. This map is very useful to me when I write down sampling or outcrop locations, because there are a lot of localities either without name in 1:25,000 map by JGS or none of the residents know.

Fig. 3

Fig. 4

Ditto, Cape Orikura


Backside of Suwanose-jima - Real image of the crater -. Peaks are "Tondachi-mine", "Ne-yama", "Waki-yama", "O-take", "Minami-dake", and "San'no-yama" from right to left. The original picture would be the same with that of Fig. 1 in "Shichitou mondou".


Looking up the god of mountain from off shore of Cape Nishi-zaki


Looking up the ring of god from the foot of Waki-yama.



Ara-saki is the cape at the southeast of Suwanose-jima facing East China sea. The meaning of the name of it, rough cape, really matches with its condition.


Look-over of Suwanose-jima

On April 20, I shipped around Suwanose-jima and made a map of the island.


At 4:00 a.m., on April 21, the 17th year of Meiji era