For Researchers

Long-term visiting program
Short-term visiting program
Visiting researchers
Useful Information

Visiting Researchers

Supriyo MITRA
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Kolkata
Period of Stay
2019/09/17 – 2019/10/29
Research Theme

Seismic Attenuation of Himalaya and Tibet using Lg waves: Observations and simulations

Host Researcher


Prof. Supriyo Mitra is a seismologist working on earthquake source physics, internal structure of the Earth and propagation characteristics of earthquake waves. His significant research contributions have been (i) in unraveling the seismic structure of the Eastern Himalaya and north-east India, Sikkim Himalaya, North-western Himalaya and Kashmir Himalaya, using receiver function techniques; (ii) study of the seismic structure of the Indian continental lithosphere using surface wave tomography; (iii) improving understanding of source properties of moderate-to-large earthquakes in the Himalaya and Indo-Burman Convergence Zone, and (iv) study of seismic wave attenuation characteristics across the Himalaya and peninsular India using seismic body and surface waves.

Prof. Mitra has worked on a number of international research projects, to name a few, the UK-India Education and Research Initiative (UK-IERI) Thematic Partnership, the Nepal Earthquake Emergency Grant, and the Royal Society International Collaboration Award. He has deployed and operated several temporary broadband seismological networks in peninsular India (Bengal Basin, Bihar-Nepal border region) and the Himalaya (North-east India, Sikkim and Kashmir Himalaya).

Prof. Mitra is the recipient of a number of academic recognitions, which include the National Geosciences Award (2016) by The Ministry of Mines, Government of India. National Academy of Sciences India (NASI)-Scopus Young Scientist Award (2012), Associate of the Indian Academy of Sciences (2011-2014), Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Young Scientist medal (2010), INSA Bilateral Exchange Award (2018), and the Cambridge-Hamied Fellowship (2016). He is a currently a member of the Research Advisory Committee of the National Center for Seismology (NCS), Ministry of Earth Sciences, India, and is a Regular Associate of the International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Trieste, Italy.
For additional details please visit:

Page Top